Mind + Body


7 CQ

In this lesson, get introduced to the five Niyamas of yoga. Understand them collectively and individually, and learn how to apply them to your life and why.

  • Recommended Recommended
  • History & In Progress History
  • Browse Library
  • Most Popular Library

Get Personalized Recommendations

Let us help you figure out what to learn! By taking a short interview you’ll be able to specify your learning interests and goals, so we can recommend the perfect courses and lessons to try next.

Start Interview

You don't have any lessons in your history.
Just find something that looks interesting and start learning!

500 characters max
Richard K
Hello Evita. Thank you for continuing to watch over your videos even so long after they’ve been posted. I’m happy to be able to ask questions and reasonably count on your reply. And today I have a question. I’m not finding a clear distinction between isvarapranidhana and santosa. I sense that they both involve surrender to what is, to the divine will. And with that commonality, I’m not seeing much difference. How do you distinguish the two? Thank in advance. RK
Curious .
Yes, they both involve surrender, but the difference is that Santosa is focused on one's state of mind and being with regards to their reality > being content (at peace) with what we have or who we are regardless of our circumstances, whereas Ishvara is about acknowledging a divine energy that is the source of all things and having some practice around devotion, gratitude, humility towards this divine source of creation. Hope that helps Richard.
Richard K
It give me a starting point. Thank you.
Curious .
My pleasure Richard. For those students who would like to dive in deeper into understanding and living the 8 Limbs of Yoga, I recommend in the last lesson to consider reading one of the books on the 8 Limbs of Yoga that provide more in-depth translations and applications of the sutras.
500 characters max
Mary G
Curious .
Great to hear, thank you!
500 characters max